Skip to Content
Report an accessibility problem
Engineering  |  School of Sustainable Engineering and the Built Environment
Select Page

Faculty by discipline

Environmental

Absar Alum

Absar Alum

Absar Alum
Assistant Research Professor

Research Interests
Health related environmental microbiology, microbial pathogen survival and detection

alum@asu.edu
480-965-6268
ISTB4 395C
Tempe campus

Treavor H. Boyer

Treavor H. Boyer

Treavor Boyer
Associate Professor, Undergraduate/Graduate Program Chair for Environmental Engineering

Research Interests
Drinking water and wastewater treatment, urine source separation, nutrient management and resource recovery

THBoyer@asu.edu
480-965-7447
ISTB4 361
Tempe campus

Otakuye Conroy-Ben

Otakuye Conroy-Ben

Otakuye Conroy-Ben
Assistant Professor

Research Interests
Antibiotic and metal resistance in bacteria, environmental endocrine disruption, wastewater epidemiology, solid waste management, bacterial gene expression, bioremediation of petroleum contaminated water and soil, wastewater reuse, boron stable isotopes, proteoliposomes for water treatment

Otakuye.Conroy@asu.edu
480-727-4514
ISTB4 363
Tempe campus

Paul Dahlen

Paul Dahlen

Paul Dahlen
Assistant Professor of Research

Research Interests
Impacts to groundwater resources from leaking underground storage tanks, Oxygen injection technologies for in-situ permeable reactive barriers

Paul.Dahlen@asu.edu
480-727-2960
ISTB4 L1-09
Tempe campus

Anca Delgado

Anca Delgado

Anca Delgado
Assistant Professor

Research Interests
Soil and groundwater microbial processes; Microbial chain elongation; Bioremediation of halogenated compounds, petroleum hydrocarbons, and heavy metals; Conversion of biomass to biochemicals; Microbial kinetics; Bioreactors for environmental biotechnology; Analytical chemistry in environmental engineering

Anca.Delgado@asu.edu
480-727-0046
BIA 214B
Tempe campus

Peter Fox

Peter Fox

Peter Fox
Professor, Graduate Program Chair for Civil/Sustainable Engineering

Research Interests
Water reuse, biological treatment, salinity/brine disposal

Peter.Fox@asu.edu
480-965-1734
ISTB4 365
Tempe campus

Rolf Halden

Rolf Halden

Rolf Halden
Professor and Director of the Center for Environmental Health Engineering

Research Interests
Public health engineering, sustainable cities, urban water cycle, green chemistry and engineering, urban metabolism & exposure assessment

Rolf.Halden@asu.edu
480-727-0893
ISTB4 481
Tempe campus

Rosa Krajmalnik-Brown

Rosa Krajmalnik-Brown

Rosa Krajmalnik-Brown
Professor

Research Interests
Bio-degradation of toxic compounds, intestinal microbial ecology-obesity, intestinal microbial ecology-autism, bio-energy, bio-prospecting/microbial metabolic exploration

Dr.Rosy@asu.edu
480-727-7574
BDA 210
Tempe campus

Peter Lammers

Peter Lammers

Peter Lammers
Research Professor

Research Interests
Biochemical pathway discovery, Large-scale algae cultivation, Algae-based wastewater treatment systems, Algal strain characterization

Peter.Lammers@asu.edu
480-727-1484
ISTB3 103B
Polytechnic campus

François Perreault

François Perreault

François Perreault
Assistant Professor

Research Interests
Combine microbiology, chemistry and nanotechnology to address critical issues related to water quality and water treatment, Antimicrobial properties of graphene-based nanomaterials, Biofouling control in membrane-based water treatment processes

Francois.Perreault@asu.edu
480-965-4028
ISTB4 375
Tempe campus

Bruce Rittmann

Bruce Rittmann

Bruce Rittmann
Regents Professor and Director of the Swette Center for Environmental Biotechnology

Research Interests
Environmental biotechnology, biofilms, resource recovery, modeling, microbial ecology

Rittmann@asu.edu
480-727-0434
BDA 210B
Tempe campus

Arjunkrishna Venkatesan

Arjunkrishna Venkatesan
Associate Research Scientist

Research Interests
Water and wastewater treatment, contaminants of emerging concern, analytical chemistry, nutrient management, environmental modeling

480-727-2912

Paul Westerhoff

Paul Westerhoff

Paul Westerhoff
Regents Professor and Fulton Chair of Environmental Engineering, Ira A. Fulton Schools of Engineering

Research Interests
Environmental geochemistry; food, water, and energy nexus; drinking water treatment, water quality

P.WESTERHOFF@asu.edu
480-965-2885
ISTB4 395D
Tempe campus