Faculty and Lecturers

Morteza Abbaszadegan

Professor
Director, Water and Environmental Technology Center

areas of research

  • Contemporary water quality issues concerning health-related water microbiology

contact info

480-965-3868
morteza.abbaszadegan@asu.edu

Braden Allenby

Professor
President’s Professor
Director, Center for Earth Systems Engineering and Management

areas of research

  • Earth systems engineering
  • Management industrial ecology science and technology policy

contact info

480-727-8594
braden.allenby@asu.edu

Absar Alum

Assistant Professor Research

areas of research

  • Health related environmental microbiology
  • Microbial pathogen survival and detection

contact info

480-965-6268
alum@asu.edu

Samuel Ariaratnam

Professor
Program Chair,
Construction Engineering

areas of research

  • Infrastructure management and rehabilitation
  • Trenchless construction methods

contact info

480-965-7399
ariaratnam@asu.edu

Steven Ayer

Assistant Professor

areas of research

  • Mixed reality for enhanced visualization
  • Mobile computing technologies
  • Emerging BIM/VDC technologies

contact info

(480) 727-4579
sayer@asu.edu

William Badger

Professor Emeritus

areas of research

  • Leadership and Management
  • Construction Management
  • Construction Contracting
  • Construction Equipment Engineering

contact info

480-965-2499
bill.badger@asu.edu

Howard Bashford

Associate Professor Emeritus

areas of research

  • Design of production systems for construction residential construction
  • Residential construction issues

contact info

480-965-4513
howard.bashford@asu.edu

Wylie Bearup

Professor of Practice
Executive Director, Alliance for Construction Excellence

areas of research

  • Civil Engineering
  • Construction Management

contact info

602-291-7457
wbearup@asu.edu

Treavor H. Boyer

Associate Professor
Program Chair, Environmental Engineering

areas of research

  • Drinking water and wastewater treatment
  • Urine source separation
  • Nutrient management and resource recovery

contact info

480-965-7447
thboyer@asu.edu

Allan Chasey
Allan Chasey

Associate Professor

areas of research

  • Controlled environment construction project management
  • Advanced technology facilities

contact info

480-965-7437
achasey@asu.edu

Mikhail Chester

Associate Professor

areas of research

  • Energy and environmental impacts of infrastructure systems
  • infrastructure interdependency
  • supply chain analysis

contact info

480-965-9779
mchester@asu.edu

Oswald Chong

Associate Professor

areas of research

  • Sustainable Design and Project Planning
  • Eco-efficiency and Technical Metabolism
  • Sustainable Engineering Knowledge System & Clusters

contact info

oswaldchong@gmail.com

Aaron Cohen

Lecturer
Associated General Contractors Lecturer

areas of research

  • Heavy construction equipment, methods and materials

contact info

480-965-6628
aaron.cohen@asu.edu

Otakuye Conroy-Ben
Otakuye Conroy-Ben

Assistant Professor

areas of research

  • Antibiotic and metal resistance in bacteria
  • environmental endocrine disruption
  • wastewater epidemiology
  • solid waste management
  • bacterial gene expression

contact info

480-727-4514
Otakuye.Conroy@asu.edu

Paul Dahlen

Assistant Professor Research

areas of research

  • Impacts to groundwater resources from leaking underground storage tanks
  • Oxygen injection technologies for in-situ permeable reactive barriers

contact info

480-965-0055
paul.dahlen@asu.edu

Thomas Dempster

Associate Research Professor

areas of research

  • Phycology
  • algal taxonomy and physiology
  • large scale cultivation of microalgae for biofuels and high value products
  • bioremediation of air and wastewater using microalgae

contact info

480-727-5415
dempster@asu.edu

Mounir El Asmar

Assistant Professor
Co-director, EPA National Center of Excellence on SMART Innovations

areas of research

  • Sustainable Building Performance
  • Integrated Project Delivery (IPD)
  • Cost Engineering

contact info

480-727-9023
Mounir.Elasmar@asu.edu

James Ernzen

Associate Professor

areas of research

  • Alternate project delivery methods
  • Project management and safety
  • Reinforced concrete design

contact info

480-965-0389
james.ernzen@asu.edu

Apostolos Fafitis

Associate Professor Emeritus

areas of research

  • Dynamics of structures
  • Concrete structures
  • Structural materials

contact info

480-965-3389
fafitis@asu.edu

Peter Fox

Professor
Graduate Program Chair

areas of research

  • Water reuse
  • Biological treatment
  • Salinity/brine disposal

contact info

480-965-1734
peter.fox@asu.edu

Matthew Fraser

Professor
Executive Director, Quantum Energy and Sustainable Solar Technologies

areas of research

  • Air quality; air pollution
  • Energy conservation
  • Energy efficiency technologies

contact info

480-965-3489
matthew.fraser@asu.edu

Venu Garikapati

Assistant Research Professor

areas of research

  • Travel Demand Modeling and Forecasting
  • Activity-Based Travel Behaviour and Time Use Analysis
  • Disruptive Technologies and Transportation

contact info

480-522-8067

venu.garikapati@asu.edu

Henri Gerken

Research Scientist Sr.

areas of research

  • Understanding the cell walls of microalgae for the purposes of enzymatic digestion for enhanced extraction of biofuels and fine products; genetic engineering of algae for production of bioproducts

contact info

480-727-5663
hgerken@asu.edu

G. Edward Gibson, Jr.

Professor
Director, School of Sustainable Engineering and the Built Environment

areas of research

  • Front end planning
  • Risk management
  • Construction productivity
  • Organizational change
  • Dispute resolution

contact info

480-965-7972
edd.gibson@asu.edu

Jeffrey Goss

Professor of Practice
Executive Director, Office of Global Outreach and Extended Education
Assistant Dean, Ira A. Fulton Schools of Engineering

areas of research

  • Global workforce development learning models; development and application of new technologies and distributed-media models for adult learning

contact info

480-965-5466
Jeffrey.goss@asu.edu

David Grau

Assistant Professor

areas of research

  • Sustainable design and construction
  • Information technologies
  • Craft labor productivity
  • Prefabrication & modularization
  • Lean construction

contact info

David.Grau@asu.edu

Rolf Halden

Professor
Director, Center for Environmental Security

areas of research

  • Bioremediation of environmental contaminants
  • Pharmaceuticals and personal care products
  • Environmental proteomics
  • Public health preparedness

contact info

480-727-0893
halden@asu.edu

Keith Hjelmstad

Professor
CESE Program Chair

areas of research

  • Computational mechanics
  • Structural engineering
  • Structural stability
  • Simulation of complex systems

contact info

480-316-5988
keith.hjelmstad@asu.edu

Christian Hoover
Christian Hoover

Assistant Professor

areas of research

  • fracture mechanics
  • materials testing
  • porous materials

contact info

Christian.Hoover@asu.edu

Sandra Houston

Professor

areas of research

  • Geotechnical and geoenvironmental engineering

contact info

480-965-2790
sandra.houston@asu.edu

Jaewon Jang

Assistant Professor

areas of Research

  • methane hydrates and natural gases

contact info

jjang19@asu.edu

Paul Johnson

Professor Emeritus
Dean Emeritus of Ira A. Fulton Schools of Engineering

areas of research

  • Environmental contaminants
  • Soil and groundwater remediation

contact info

480-965-9235
paul.c.johnson@asu.edu

Kamil Kaloush

Associate Professor
Director, National Center of Excellence on SMART Innovations

areas of research

  • Pavement materials design
  • Characterization and thermal properties
  • Advanced laboratory testing
  • Field performance evaluation

contact info

480-965-5509
kamil.kaloush@asu.edu

Jacob Kashiwagi

Assistant Research Professor

areas of research

  • Leadership models which increases supply chain/project management efficiency through technology that aligns expertise, increases transparency, and minimizes required transactions and communication

contact info

480-965-0753
Jacob.kashiwagi@asu.edu

Edward Kavazanjian, Jr.

Professor
Director, Center for Bio-mediated and Bio-inspired Geotechnics

areas of research

  • Geotechnical earthquake engineering
  • Waste containment and solid waste mechanical properties
  • Bio-geotechnical engineering

contact info

480-727-8566
edward.kavazanjian@asu.edu

Rosa Krajmalnik-Brown

Associate Professor

areas of research

  • Biotransformation and fate of environmental contaminants
  • Environmental applications of molecular microbial ecology

contact info

480-727-7574
dr.rosy@asu.edu

Kraig Knutson

Lecturer Senior

areas of research

  • Electrical construction fundamentals and project management
  • Construction planning and scheduling

contact info

480-965-1402
kraig.knutson@asu.edu

Klaus Lackner

Professor
Director, Center for Negative Carbon Emissions

areas of research

  • Closing the carbon cycle by capturing carbon dioxide from the air
  • carbon sequestration; carbon foot-printing
  • innovative energy and infrastructure systems

contact info

480-727-2499
Klaus.lackner@asu.edu

Peter Lammers

Research Professor

areas of research

  • Biochemical pathway discovery
  • Large-scale algae cultivation
  • Algae-based wastewater treatment systems
  • Algal strain characterization

contact info

480-727-1410
Peter.Lammers@asu.edu

Chris Lawrence

Lecturer

areas of research

  • Engineering mechanics
  • Geotechnical engineering

contact info

480-965-2893
chris.lawrence@asu.edu

Yingyan Lou

Assistant Professor

areas of research

  • multi-modal transportation networks and systems
  • transportation planning and network operations
  • transportation safety

contact info

Yingyan.Lou@asu.edu

Michael Mamlouk

Professor

areas of research

  • Pavement analysis, design
  • Material characterization
  • Highway materials
  • Pavement maintenance and rehabilitation

contact info

480-965-2892
mamlouk@asu.edu

Giuseppe Mascaro

Assistant Professor

areas of research

  • Statistical hydrology, climate downscaling and numerical modeling

contact info

480-965-0451
giuseppe.mascaro@asu.edu

Larry Mays

Professor

areas of research

  • Hydrosystems

contact info

480-965-2524
mays@asu.edu

Barzin Mobasher

Professor

areas of research

  • Mechanics of composite materials
  • Development of new construction materials
  • Durability of building materials

contact info

480-965-0141
barzin.mobasher@asu.edu

Narayanan Neithalath

Professor

areas of research

  • Cement-based materials and materials science
  • Design and development of sustainable construction materials
  • Performance prediction and modeling

contact info

480-965-6023
narayanan.neithalath@asu.edu

Kristen Parrish

Assistant Professor

areas of research

  • Integrated project delivery
  • Engineering education

contact info

480-727-6363
Kristen.Parrish@asu.edu

Ram M. Pendyala

Professor

areas of research

  • Multimodal Transportation Planning, Transportation Systems Modeling
  • Activity-Travel Behavior Analysis
  • Transportation Technology and Policy

contact info

480-727-4587
ram.pendyala@asu.edu

François Perreault
François Perreault

Assistant Professor

areas of research

  • Combine microbiology, chemistry and nanotechnology to address critical issues related to water quality and water treatment.Antimicrobial properties of graphene-based nanomaterials

contact info

480-965-4028
francois.perreault@asu.edu

Subramaniam "Subby" Rajan

Professor
Director, Computational Mechanics Lab

areas of research

  • Finite element analysis
  • Design optimization
  • High performance and parallel computations
  • Constitutive material modeling

contact info

480-965-1712
s.rajan@asu.edu

T. Agami Reddy

Professor

areas of research

  • Energy efficiency and conservation in buildings and HVAC&R systems
  • Solar energy systems
  • Modeling, simulation and data analysis of energy data
  • Energy sustainability pathways

contact info

480-727-7417
T.Agami.Reddy@asu.edu

Bruce Rittmann

Professor
Director,
Swette Center for Environmental Biotechnology

areas of research

  • Environmental biotechnology
  • Biofilms
  • Microbial ecology

contact info

480-727-0434
rittmann@asu.edu

Thomas Roberts

Professor of Practice

areas of research

  • Research includes both commercial and government space-based communications systems as well as terrestrial wireless systems

contact info

twroberts@asu.edu

Thomas Schleifer

Assistant Research Professor

areas of research

  • Business planning and management
  • Leadership and entrepreneurial skills

contact info

480-965-4246
Thomas.Schleifer@asu.edu

 

Thomas Seager

Associate Professor

areas of research

  • Ethics education for sustainable engineers
  • Environmental impacts of alternative energy

contact info

480-727-0531
thomas.seager@asu.edu

Shahnawaz Sinha

Assistant Research Professor

areas of research

  • water quality; water treatment plant optimization
  • pilot-scale studies
  • seawater and brackish water desalination
  • industrial water treatment and reuse

contact info

480-726-2969
shahnawaz.sinha@asu.edu

Jeffrey Stempihar

Assistant Research Professor

areas of research

  • Airport design, pavement materials design, thermal properties, and transportation research implementation

contact info

480-727-4214
jstempih@asu.edu

Robert Stirling

Research Technologist

areas of research

  • Startup technology marketing expertise; entrepreneurship, including new product modeling techniques, licensing practices and product development practices

contact info

Robert.stirling@asu.edu

Kenneth Sullivan

Associate Professor
Graduate Program Chair
Co-Director, Performance Based Studies Research Group

areas of research

  • Performance measurement
  • Risk management
  • Best value contracting
  • Accountability systems
  • Facility management

contact info

480-965-4213
kenneth.sullivan@asu.edu

Pingbo Tang

Assistant Professor

areas of research

  • Automatic Data Processing and Interpretation
  • 2D/3D Imaging Technology
  • Automated Geometric Information Retrieval

contact info

480-727-8105
tangpingbo@asu.edu

Shane Underwood

Assistant Professor
Co-Director, Sustainable Materials in Civil Infrastructure, NCE SMART center

areas of research

  • Pavement materials characterization and design
  • Performance modeling with multiscale constitutive techniques

contact info

480-965-1097
shane.underwood@asu.edu

Leon van Paassen

Associate Professor

areas of research

  • soil behavior and mechanics
  • geochemistry
  • bio-based geotechnical engineering

contact info

480-965-1075
Leon.Vanpaassen@asu.edu

Enrique Vivoni

Professor

areas of research

  • Hydrological processes in natural and urban environments
  • Ground and remote-based sensing
  • High performance computing

contact info

480-727-3575
vivoni@asu.edu

Zhihua Wang

Assistant Professor
Co-Director, Climate System Research, NCE SMART

areas of research

  • Land-atmosphere interactions
  • Subsurface heat/water transport
  • Mitigation of urban heat island effect

contact info

480-727-2933
zhwang@asu.edu

Kristen Ward

Lecturer

areas of research

  • Structural engineering, engineering mechanics, earthquake engineering, numerical methods

contact info

480-965-5623
Kmward6@asu.edu

Edwin Weaver

Lecturer Senior

areas of research

  • Contracts and specifications for concrete construction
  • Concrete paving for airfields and roadways
  • Concrete and masonry safety

contact info

480-965-8366
Edwin.Weaver@asu.edu

Pierre Wensel

Research Engineer

areas of research

  • Design, construction, control, and optimization of upstream cultivation and downstream harvesting microalgal processes

contact info

480-727-5662
Pierre.wensel@asu.edu     

Paul Westerhoff

Professor
Vice Provost of Academic Research Programming

areas of research

  • Drinking water treatment
  • Water quality

contact info

480-965-2885
p.westerhoff@asu.edu     

Avi Wiezel

Associate Professor
Assistant Dean for Facilities, IAFSE

areas of research

  • Buildability modeling
  • Information technology in construction
  • Construction education

contact info

480-965- 4121
avi.wiezel@asu.edu

Matthew Witczak

Professor Emeritus

areas of research

  • Advanced Pavement Design
  • Pavement Rehabilitation
  • Pavement Management
  • Dynamic Material Characterization

contact info

480-619-0827
Witczak@asu.edu

Claudia Zapata

Associate Professor

areas of research

  • Geotechnical engineering
  • Environmental effects in pavement design

contact info

480-727-8514
czapata@asu.edu

Xuesong Zhou

Associate Professor

areas of research

  • Transportation

contact info

Xuesong.Zhou@asu.edu

Contact
School of Sustainable Engineering and the Built Environment
Main Office
College Avenue Commons (CAVC)
660 S. College Avenue
Tempe, Arizona 85281
Tel: 480-965-3589
Fax: 480-965-0557
Email:
(Map)
Academic Advising Office
CAVC 437
Tel: 480-965-0595
Email:
College Avenue Commons - Future SSEBE Home

College Avenue Commons

The New Home of the Del E. Webb School of Construction.
Find Out More...